2010 Ryder Cup
Thomas Bjorn, Darren Clarke, Paul McGinley

Montgomerie announces Björn, Clarke and McGinley as Vice Captains

Experienced trio to help Europe in quest to regain Ryder Cup

Roddy Williams, European Tour Editorial Staff

European Ryder Cup Captain Colin Montgomerie has named Thomas Björn, Darren Clarke and Paul McGinley as Vice Captains for The 2010 European Team.

Björn, Clarke and McGinley, who between them have played in ten Ryder Cups, were announced today during a press conference at The European Tour Headquarters at Wentworth Club. They bring a wealth of experience and success to Montgomerie’s backroom team hoping to regain The Ryder Cup at The Celtic Manor Resort, City of Newport, Wales, from October 1-3, 2010.

Montgomerie said: “The Ryder Cup is about passion, commitment and will to win and all three men I have named today as my Vice Captains possess these qualities in abundance.

“Thomas Björn, Darren Clarke and Paul McGinley are vastly experienced players who have the respect and admiration of everyone in golf. They have all been part of successful European Ryder Cup Teams in the past and know the players who will be part of my Team at Celtic Manor in October as well as anyone.

“I am delighted to have them by my side as we head to Wales and I know they will be of invaluable assistance to me and everyone associated with the Team as we aim to regain The Ryder Cup.”

Björn,  who in 1997 became the first Dane to play in The Ryder Cup, has represented Europe twice in the biennial match against the United States and been on the winning side on both occasions, with victory in 2002 at The Belfry following the 1997 success at Valderrama.  As a player he has a Ryder Cup record of played 6, won 3, lost 2 and halved 1 and he also served as assistant to Bernhard Langer in 2004 at Oakland Hills. Björn has also captained Continental Europe in the Vivendi Trophy with Seve Ballesteros.

Clarke has played on five European Ryder Cup teams, and tasted victory on four of those occasions. Like Björn, he made a winning debut in 1997 at Valderrama, and after defeat at The Country Club, Brookline, in 1999, played a key role in Europe’s first hat-trick of victories in 2002, 2004 and 2006. His inspirational performance in 2006 at The K Club helped Europe to a third successive win with a record-equalling nine point winning margin. Clarke has played 20, won 10, lost 7 and halved 3 and together with Lee Westwood formed the

McGinley has made three Ryder Cup appearances, famously holing the winning putt in 2002 at The Belfry and then sharing the record successes of 2004 and 2006. McGinley sparked joyous scenes on the 18th green at The Belfy when he halved his singles match with Jim Furyk to carry Europe over the line. He tasted more success in 2004 at Oakland Hills and then on home soil in 2006 at The K Club, before captaining Great Britain and Ireland to victory over Continental Europe in the Vivendi Trophy with Seve Ballesteros last September. His Ryder Cup record reads played 9, won 2, lost 2 and halved 5.

The nine automatic qualifiers for The European Ryder Cup Team, four from the World Points List and five from the European Points List, will be confirmed on Sunday August 29 at the conclusion of the Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles. Montgomerie will then announce his three Captain’s Picks to complete his 12 man team on the same day.

The eight automatic qualifiers for the US Team will be determined on August 15, 2010, at the conclusion of the US PGA Championship at Whistling Straits. US Captain Corey Pavin will announce his four Captain’s Picks on September 7, 2010.

©2003-2012 The PGA of America / Ryder Cup limited / Turner Sports Interactive. All rights reserved.
Turner Entertainment Digital Network RYDERCUP.com is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.