Westwood for rc 9
Lee Westwood will be making his seventh Ryder Cup appearance (Getty Images)

Westwood leads nine automatic qualifiers

Lee Westwood led the nine automatic qualifiers for The European Ryder Cup team who will seek to regain The 2010 Ryder Cup.

Roddy Williams, European Tour Editorial Staff

Lee Westwood led the nine automatic qualifiers for The European Ryder Cup team who will seek to regain The 2010 Ryder Cup at The Celtic Manor Resort from October 1-3.

The Englishman is the most experienced player among the automatic qualifiers and will be making his seventh Ryder Cup appearance. In 29 matches, he has won 14, lost ten, halved five and accumulated 16 ½ points. During that period he was unbeaten for 12 consecutive matches, equalling the Ryder Cup record.

Westwood, currently recovering from a calf injury, topped the World Points List and was joined by Rory McIlroy and US PGA Champion Martin Kaymer, both of whom will be making their Ryder Cup debuts, and US Open Champion Graeme McDowell, who makes his second appearance after an impressive debut two years ago at Valhalla where he won two matches, lost one and halved one.

From the European Points List, Ian Poulter will be making his third Ryder Cup appearance having previously represented Europe in 2004 and 2008, where he was Europe’s leading scorer. Ross Fisher, Francesco Molinari and Peter Hanson all qualified for their first Ryder Cup through the European Points List along with Miguel Angel Jiménez, who overtook Hanson in the final qualifying event to secure a place on The European Team for the fourth time.

Hanson and Jiménez were both under threat heading into the final qualifying event but held onto their places among the top nine by finishing joint 19th and joint third respectively at the Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles,

European Captain Colin Montgomerie will announce his three wild cards at 18.05 BST during a press conference at Gleneagles when he will finalise his 12 man team tasked with regaining Samuel Ryder’s golden chalice following the US victory at Valhalla two years ago.

United States Captain Corey Pavin will select the final four players for his team on September 7 after the first eight members of the US Team was determined after the US PGA Championship.


©2003-2012 The PGA of America / Ryder Cup limited / Turner Sports Interactive. All rights reserved.
Turner Entertainment Digital Network RYDERCUP.com is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.