Paul Azinger - the United States victorious Captain(Getty Images)

United States win The 2008 Ryder Cup

Print News

The United States have won The Ryder Cup for the first time since 1999, ending a run of three successive victories for Europe, after an epic encounter at Valhalla Golf Club. Jim Furyk secured the winning point, defeating Miguel Angel Jim�nez on the 17th green to take the US total to an insurmountable 14 � points.

Victory in the top match by Anthony Kim over Sergio Garcia set the tone and while Paul Casey secured a battling half with Hunter Mahan and Robert Karlsson and Justin Rose both delivered for Europe, defeating Justin Leonard and Phil Mickelson, the next four matches all went the United States's way.

The two Kentuckians played their part, Kenny Perry getting the better of Henrik Stenson 3 & 2 and J B Holmes holding off Soren Hansen 2&1. Boo Weekley was also sensational in beating Oliver Wilson 4&2.

But the end came when Furyk safely parred the 17th hole. Jim�nez had the chance from 25 feet to extend the match for another hole but the putt for birdie slipped by and the US celebrations could begin.