Sept. 21-26, 2021 Whistling Straits, Kohler, WI
Photo Credit: (Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images)

With the conclusion of the 100th PGA Championship at Bellerive, eight of the 12 spots on Ryder Cup USA have been filled by automatic qualifiers.

Brooks Koepka, Dustin Johnson, Justin Thomas, Patrick Reed, Bubba Watson, Jordan Spieth, Rickie Fowler and Webb Simpson – in that order – are the automatic qualifiers for the 2018 U.S. team.

The four remaining spots will be Captain's selections. Three will be announced by Captain Jim Furyk following the Dell Technologies Championship on Sept. 3, and the final selection will be announced after the BMW Championship on Sept. 9.

Koepka was the top point-getter for the U.S. thanks to his back-to-back wins at the U.S. Open, followed by his PGA Championship win at Bellerive. 

Johnson was first in the standings prior to the PGA Championship. He will play in his fourth Ryder Cup.

Thomas will make his Ryder Cup debut after clinching a spot on the team with his win at the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational.

Reigning Masters Champion Patrick Reed will make his third consecutive Ryder Cup appearance. Two-time Masters champion Bubba Watson will play in his fourth Ryder Cup.

At just 25 years old, Spieth will play in his third career Ryder Cup. Spieth won The Open in 2017 at Royal Birkdale.

Fowler finished second at the Masters and he earned a pair of T5 finishes in majors last year.

Simpson claimed the eighth and final automatic qualifying spot for the American Ryder Cup team.

Related News & Videos

We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalizing content and advertising. To learn more, read the relevant section of the applicable Privacy Policy. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies.