Sept. 25-Oct. 1, 2023 Marco Simone Golf & Country Club, Rome, Italy

The 2020 Ryder Cup -- the 43rd overall -- will be contested at Whistling Straits, in Kohler, Wisconsin. 

Whistling Straits has previously played host to three PGA Championships (2004, 2010, 2015). 

Nestled along a two-mile stretch of Lake Michigan, the Pete and Alice Dye-designed Whistling Straits course features eight holes along the water. 

RELATED: Become notified when tickets are available

When: Specific dates have not yet been set for the 2020 Ryder Cup, but the biennial matches are typically scheduled for the end of September/beginning of October.

Captains: The captains for the USA and Europe are usually announced a few months after the conclusion of the previous Ryder Cup. In this case, we will likely see an announcement on captains either in late 2018, or the first couple of months of 2019.

How the teams are determined: Both 12-player squads include a collection of players who automatically qualified via point accumulation and, additionally, captain's picks to round out the team.

For the 2018 matches at Le Golf International, each side had eight automatic qualifiers and four captain's picks. The number of captain's picks have fluctuated through the years and that number does not have to be the same for both teams at each Ryder Cup. 

Hypothetically, the USA could elect to give the captain the authority to make four picks in 2020, while Europe may only make room for two captain's picks.

Ryder Cup format: While the order of play is determined by the host captain, Days 1 and 2 feature one session each of four fourballs and four foursomes matches. Day 3 features 12 singles matches.

Scoring: Teams receive one full point for winning a match and -- in the event of a tie at the conclusion of 18 holes -- a half-point is awarded to each team.

Total points needed to win: Between the two fourballs sessions, two foursomes sessions and the singles session, there are a total of 28 points up for grabs in a Ryder Cup.

To win the Ryder Cup outright, a team must accumulate 14.5 points.

In the event of a 14-14 tie, the team that won the previous Ryder Cup will "retain" the trophy for two more years until the next playing of the matches.

More News

Sign Up for our Newsletter
Enter your email address to receive updates on changes in rankings and important announcements.
We appreciate your interest in and excitement for The Ryder Cup. We will be sharing important updates as they become available.
There has been an error in your submission. Please try again.