Sept. 25-Oct. 1, 2023 Marco Simone Golf & Country Club, Rome, Italy

The Ryder Cup has provided incredible drama throughout the years with joy for European and American fans, but how many times has Europe won The Ryder Cup?

Europe has won The Ryder Cup 11 times since 1979, when it became a contest between the USA and Europe.

In the three contests between 1973 and 1977, it was a Great Britain and Ireland team which took on the might of the USA, while prior to that it was Great Britain versus the USA.

The USA has won nine Ryder Cups since 1979, while there was one tie in 1989, when Europe retained the trophy having won the previous contest in 1987 – the rules of The Ryder Cup that in the event of a tie, the holders retain the famous trophy.

Europe won the most recent Ryder Cup in 2018 at Le Golf National, Paris, beating the United States 17.5 – 10.5 under the captainship of Thomas Bjørn.

Team Europe clinched their first Ryder Cup win as a continent at the fourth time of asking in 1985, beating Team USA 16.5 – 11.5 at The Belfry, England, with Tony Jacklin at the helm as non-playing Captain.

It began a remarkable turnaround in Ryder Cup history as, following decades of American success, Europe began to dominate the biennial contest.

Jacklin led the team to an historic second successive victory in 1987 as Team Europe beat America 15 – 13 to retain the trophy - the first time the USA had ever been defeated on home soil.

In one of the closest-fought contests in Ryder Cup history, Seve Ballesteros sealed victory with a 2&1 win against Curtis Strange in Sunday singles.

Team Europe retained The Ryder Cup once again in 1989 after the competition ended in a tie for only the second time in its history. The matches ended in a 14 – 14 stalemate meaning, as holders, Europe would lift the trophy for the third time in succession.

After two successive defeats to the USA in 1991 and 1993, Europe’s victory in 1995 was only their second win on American soil, following the success in 1987.

Captained by Bernard Gallacher for the third consecutive time, Europe overcame a two-point deficit on the final day to clinch a dramatic 14.5 – 13.5 win, with Irish rookie Philip Walton defeating Jay Haas by one hole to seal the contest.

In 1997, The Ryder Cup was held in continental Europe for the first time as Valderrama Golf Club hosted the event. Ballesteros led Europe to victory with a famous 14.5 – 13.5 win against the United States, with Constantino Rocca beating rookie Tiger Woods 4&2 in Sunday’s singles matches, as Europe sealed back-to-back titles.

It was also the first of six consecutive victories on home soil, a run that remains through to 2018.

Win number five came at The 2002 Ryder Cup, where The Belfry was the location of another thrilling European victory, Sam Torrance’s side beating Curtis Strange’s Team USA by a scoreline of 15.5 – 12.5.

The event had been originally scheduled for 2001 but was postponed following the September 11 tragedy in the USA.

Bernhard Langer led Europe to a record-breaking win in 2004 at Oakland Hills Country Club, Michigan, winning by 18.5 – 9.5 to secure Europe’s largest margin of victory in the history of The Ryder Cup.

Sergio Garcia and Lee Westwood shone on American soil, claiming four and a half points each, as Europe won its second of three consecutive Ryder Cups.

The third consecutive victory and tenth Ryder Cup triumph came at The K Club in Ireland in 2006, where Ian Woosnam’s team equalled their record-winning margin of 2004 as the United States were defeated 18.5 – 9.5.

Spaniard Garcia once again was the star for the European team as he won four points from a possible five en route to victory.

After a defeat to the USA in 2008 at Valhalla, Europe bounced back with another victory on home soil, this time led by Colin Montgomerie at Celtic Manor in Wales.

Rory McIlroy picked up two points on his debut as Europe sealed a 14.5 – 13.5 win, with McIlroy’s fellow countryman Graeme McDowell securing the decisive point.

Arguably Europe’s most famous win came in 2012 at Medinah Country Club, known as the ‘Miracle at Medinah’.

José María Olazábal’s European team fought back from 10 – 6 down to win 14.5 – 13.5, with the victory dedicated by the Spanish Captain to his friend, the late Seve Ballesteros.

Europe won the first five Sunday singles matches to move into contention, with Martin Kaymer holing a five-foot putt in the penultimate match to retain the trophy, before Francesco Molinari halved his match against Woods to win The Ryder Cup outright.

Following on from victories in 2010 and 2012, Europe won its third consecutive Ryder Cup in 2014 at Gleneagles, Scotland, where Paul McGinley led the team to a 16.5 – 11.5 victory over Tom Watson’s American side. It was the first time The Ryder Cup had been played in Scotland since 1973 at Muirfield.

The latest European victory came at Le Golf National in 2018, when Europe made it six successive home Ryder Cup wins with a 17.5 – 10.5 triumph.

Bjørn captained a team that included five rookies, including Tommy Fleetwood who won four points on his debut, while Francesco Molinari became the first European player to win five points from five matches.

The contest also saw Garcia become the all-time leading Ryder Cup points scorer, overtaking Nick Faldo, as he claimed three points from four matches to move to a total of 25 and a half points.

More News

Sign Up for our Newsletter
Enter your email address to receive updates on changes in rankings and important announcements.
We appreciate your interest in and excitement for The Ryder Cup. We will be sharing important updates as they become available.
There has been an error in your submission. Please try again.