Sept. 25-Oct. 1, 2023 Marco Simone Golf & Country Club, Rome, Italy

Although not the current holders of The Ryder Cup, the fact they have not lost on home soil in 25 years will only instil a little more confidence in the players this week.

It was 1993 at The Belfry when the American side last won on European soil, with Davis Love III securing the victory. 

Since then, Seve Ballesteros, Sam Torrance, Ian Woosnam, Colin Montgomerie and Paul McGinley have all successfully won The Ryder Cup in Europe. 

For Seve, it was The 1997 Ryder Cup at Valderrama, in which his side managed to see off a strong comeback from the Americans, with the score finishing 14 ½ - 13 ½.

Five years later and it would be Torrance’s turn to keep up this feat. And he duly did so, dispatching of the Americans 15 ½ - 12 ½ around The Belfry. 

Woosnam was captain in 2006 and witnessed his side comfortably cruise to a 18 ½ - 9 ½ victory at The K Club, Ireland. 

A further four years down the line, Graeme McDowell would ensure Montgomerie and his side would keep this record going with a 14 ½ - 13 ½ victory. 

Finally, The 2014 Ryder Cup at Gleneagles saw the Europeans win comfortably again under McGinley. The final score being 16 ½ - 11 ½ in Europe’s favour. 


More News

Sign Up for our Newsletter
Enter your email address to receive updates on changes in rankings and important announcements.
We appreciate your interest in and excitement for The Ryder Cup. We will be sharing important updates as they become available.
There has been an error in your submission. Please try again.